Angelika Stepken took over as director of Villa Romana in November 2006. Following extensive refurbishment measures, she reopened the Villa in May 2007.
She was previously Director at Badischer Kunstverein in Karlsruhe from 1998 to 2006.
As a curator, she has organised numerous international exhibitions since the late 1980s, most recently the ifa (Institute for Foreign Relations) exhibition Future Perfect, which has toured internationally since 2013. She has written numerous reviews, texts on art and articles in catalogues and edited the 2012 BDI (Federation of German Industries) annual Jahresring, entitled On One Side of the Same Water. Artistic practices between Tirana and Tanger. She is editor of the extensive monograph Ketty La Rocca - You. Works & Writings 1964-1976, published in 2018.

After graduating in Architecture and attending the School of Specialisation in Landscape Architecture, Luca Puri discovered Permaculture, which profoundly changed his concept of nature and sociality.
As a teacher of this subject, he is committed to applying the principles of design conceived as an organic, synergic and social system.
He is currently enrolled on a diploma in Curatorial Studies at the Academy of Fine Arts in Florence. From 2018 he worked at the Museo Novecento in Florence, curating and managing the logistical and relational organisation of exhibitions and events.
He has been working at Villa Romana since 2022.

Davood Madadpoor was born and raised in Tehran where he worked in the War Library as co-researcher on methods of archiving. His interest in the arts led him to pursue degrees in photography at the Tehran University of Applied Sciences and Technology. He also worked as project manager at the Tehran Art Center (Hozeh Honari).
In 2013, he moved to Florence where he obtained a BFA as well as an MA in Curatorial Studies from the Accademia di Belle Arti. He graduated with a thesis focused on the local context as an impetus and inspiration for the art practices of artists-in-residence.
Davood is also co-founder and curator of Sumac Space, a digital platform devoted to contemporary art practices in the Middle East through exhibitions, critical writing and research. This is aligned with his personal research interest in the reflection of tensions between everyday objects and events and a contemporaneous backdrop of a socio-political landscape in flux.
Since 2018, he has been working as project coordinator at Villa Romana.

Claudia Fromm was born in 1974 in Herten /NRW. After an apprenticeship in bookselling in Germany she graduated in German-Italian-Studies and Art History at the Universities of Bonn and Florence. Since January 2014 she has been working as an administrative assistant at the Villa Romana.

Ala (French teacher) and Victor Cebotaru (designer) have been taking care of the house and garden of Villa Romana since 2008.

Eva Sauer, born in Florence in 1973, is an artist and photographer and edits images and texts for the online communication.

Christian Aberle, born 1974, active in the visual arts and music, has been editing the articles on our website since 2015.